Greater Los Angeles Zoo Association


For more than fifty years, the private, non-profit Greater Los Angeles Zoo Association (GLAZA) has funded exhibits, plant and animal species conservation, capital projects, and education and community outreach programs at the Los Angeles Zoo, an international leader in the preservation of endangered species and a conservation center for the care and study of wildlife. There are currently over 61,600 GLAZA member households, the largest membership base of a cultural organization in Los Angeles, and it boasts a volunteer corps of over 700.


To serve the community, we will create an environment for recreation and discovery; inspire an appreciation of wildlife through exhibitry and education; ensure the highest level of animal welfare; and support programs that preserve biodiversity and conserve natural habitat.


We will leverage the diverse resources of Los Angeles to be an innovator for the global zoo community, creating dynamic experiences to connect people and animals.

Our Role

As the Zoo’s non-profit advocate and partner, GLAZA commits to provide financial and mission support to the Zoo and its programs; raise public awareness about the Zoo; enhance the visitor experience; and steward the investments of visitors, members, and donors.

GLAZA President

Tom Jacobson

GLAZA Administration

Eugenia Vasels, Vice President, Institutional Advancement
Dawn Petersen-Amend, General Counsel
Kait Hilliard, Vice President, Marketing & Communications
Sara Rodriguez, Vice President, Operations and Events
Gretchen Humbert, Vice-President, Chief Financial Officer
Lisa Correa, Director of Membership
Kirin Daugharty, Director of Volunteer Programs

GLAZA Foundation

Lani Hall Alpert
Betty White Ludden
Ann Moss
Margaret Rose Perenchio

Board of Trustees


Elisabeth Hunt Price, Chair
Brian Diamond, Vice Chair
Gregory D. Fuss, Treasurer
Phyllis Kupferstein, Secretary


Alma Banuelos
Alexis Miller Buese
Michael Bustamante
Esther S.M. Chao
Jillian Romero Chaves
Richard Corgel
Wendy Denham, M.D.
Rob Ellis
Cassidy Horn
Laura Kaplansky
Tyler K. Kelley
Diann H. Kim
Anthony L. Kitchener
Richard Lichtenstein
Alan G. Lowy
Betty White Ludden
Steve O’Connell
Marc L. Sallus
Patricia Silver
Jay Sonbolian
Erika Aronson Stern
Madeline Taft
Franco Terango
Ellia M. Thompson, Esq
Michael Wandell
Laura Wasserman
Jennifer Thornton Wieland
Angela Yim-Sullivan

Trustees Emeritus

Willard Z. Carr Jr., Lloyd A. Levitin, Mrs. John F. Maher, Shelby Kaplan Sloan, Thomas R. Tellefsen, Polly Turpin


Dr. Evan Antin
Lance Bass
LouAnne Brickhouse, Conservation Ambassador
Jackie Chan
Julie Chang
Leila George
Carolyn Hennesy
Charley Koontz
Lisa Ling
Joel McHale
Ruben Rojas

GLAZA Financial Statements

Financial Statements for the Years Ended June 30, 2019 and 2018

Financial Statements for the Years Ended June 30, 2018 and 2017

Financial Statements for the Years Ended June 30, 2017 and 2016

2018 IRS Form 990 for Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2019

2017 IRS Form 990 for Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2018

2016 IRS Form 990 for Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2017

Executive Compensation Policy

Back to Top