Los Angeles Zoo Logo Photo Credit LA Zoo

Los Angeles Zoo & Botanical Gardens

Learn more about the L.A. Zoo?— our mission,?vision, and organizational structure.

Chief Executive Officer & Zoo Director

Denise M. Verret

Denise Tamura, Executive Assistant

Zoo Administration

Mei Kwan,?Deputy Director
Beth Schaefer,?General Curator and Director of Animal Programs
Mae Huey,?Human Resources Director
Dr. Dominique Keller, DVM, PhD, Dipl. ACZM, Chief Veterinarian and Director of Animal Wellness?Programs
Dan Keeffe, Director of Learning and Engagement
Tom LoVullo, Director of Construction and Maintenance
Dr. Jake Owens, PhD, Director of Conservation
Darryl Pon,?Planning and Development Director
April Spurlock,?Communications Director
Jess Kohring (she/her), Director of Equity Programs

Zoo Commission

Karen B. Winnick, President
Bernardo Silva, Vice President
Margot Armbruster
Christopher Hopkins
Daryl Smith
Richard Lichtenstein, Ex-Officio Member

Please click here for Zoo Commission meeting information >

Former Zoo Directors

John Lewis, 2003-2019
Edward Maruska, 2002-2003
Manuel A. Mollinedo, 1995-2002
Dr. Mark A. Goldstein, 1992-1995
Dr. Warren D. Thomas, 1974-1991
Chester E. Hogan, 1971-1974
Dr. Nathan B. Gale, 1968-1971
Dr. Wesley A. Young, 1966-1968

Association of Zoos and Aquariums Accreditation

Association of Zoos & Aquariums Logo

The Los Angeles Zoo is accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums (AZA). Look for the AZA logo whenever you visit a zoo or aquarium as your assurance that you are supporting a facility dedicated to providing excellent care for animals, a great experience for you, and a better future for all living things. With its more than 200 accredited members, AZA is a leader in global wildlife conservation, and your link to helping animals in their native habitats. For more information, visit the AZA website at www.aza.org.

Back to Top